Gujarat Election, PM Narendra Modi: PM Votes Today, 93 Seats At Stake, Exit Polls This Evening: 10 Facts


- Advertisement -

Gujarat Election 2022: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has cast his vote in Ahmedabad.

93 seats spread across central and north Gujarat are voting today in the second phase of the crucial Assembly polls in the BJP bastion. The election this time is a three-cornered fight between the ruling BJP, Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Here are 10 points on the Gujarat elections:

  1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel were among those who cast their votes early this morning. Speaking to the media, the Prime Minister thanked the Election Commission for the conduct of the polls and urged the people to step out and vote.

  2. Chief Minister Patel, too, appealed to the people to cast their votes. Home Minister Amit Shah, too, cast his vote today with his family members. Exit polls would be out this evening after polling ends at 5 pm. 

  3. The first phase of the Gujarat election on December 1 saw low turnout, prompting the Election Commission to criticise “urban apathy” among voters. A turnout of 34.7 per cent has been recorded till 1 pm.  

  4. About 833 candidates are contesting across the 93 seats polling today. Among them are 16 urban seats in Ahmedabad. These seats are crucial for the BJP and it has dominated them for three decades now.

  5. The Congress had improved its tally to four seats in the last election from two in 2012 in Ahmedabad. This time, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded candidates in all the 16 seats, making it an interesting fight.

  6. In Muslim-dominated Jamalpur Khadia seat in Ahmedabad, the entry of Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM may upset the Congress, as the AIMIM candidate, Sabir Kabliwala, is a former Congress MLA who fought as an independent in 2012, resulting in a BJP win as he cut into Congress votes.

  7. The BJP and AAP are contesting all the 93 seats. The Congress is contesting in 90 seats and its partner, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), has fielded candidates in two seats.

  8. Some of the key seats in the second phase are Ghatlodia in Ahmedabad, from where Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel is contesting; Viramgam, also in Ahmedabad, from where Patidar leader Hardik Patel is fighting on the BJP’s ticket, and Gandhinagar South from where Alpesh Thakor is fighting as the BJP’s candidate.

  9. Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani is contesting as the Congress candidate from Vadgam seat in Banaskantha district, and Leader of Opposition in the Gujarat assembly Sukhram Rathva is the Congress nominee from Jetpur in Chhota Udepur district.

  10. Some 2.51 crore people can cast their vote in the second phase. Of these, 5.96 lakh voters are in the age group of 18-19 years, according to the Election Commission. Votes will be counted on December 8.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Metroclassify. Publisher:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Horoscope Today: Your Astrological Prediction for October 1, 2023

HOROSCOPE TODAY, OCTOBER 1, 2023: Are you looking for...

Bitcoin Payment Service BTCPay Server Now Easier to Integrate with React Apps

BTCPay Server has come a long way since Nicolas...

10 Years Taken: Bitcoin Icon Ross Ulbricht Is Still In Jail, Still Seeking Justice

It has officially been a decade since Ross Ulbricht,...
%d bloggers like this: